race jerseys sponsored by Jacob Tipper Performance Coaching

Manfield-Yorke sprints to victory in SSSCCRRL R6

Benjamin Manfield-Yorke (Morvelo Basso) sprinted to a clear victory in round six of the Shropshire and South Staffordshire Road Race League after a fast finish in Bobbington.

After watching his team-mate James Ireson win at round four Manfield-Yorke led home a leading group of 22 riders and had time to celebrate his first win of the season.

It was the second time the Enville circuit has been used this season by the league with Manfield-Yorke finishing third on the previous occasion.

Manfield-Yorke was part of the scratch group which caught all of those before them in the handicapped format leading to a sprint.

After finishing third and fourth in previous rounds Grant Bigham (Velo Runner) continued his good form to clinch second with Jamieson Blain (Zappi Racing Team) rounding off the podium.

Overall series leader Matthew Garthwaite (Holohan Coaching Race Team) kept the yellow jersey with a 14th place finish.

Junior series leader George Mills-Keeling (Cycle Club Bridgnorth) extended his lead in that competition clinching seventh place on the night.

Meanwhile fastest veteran on the night was Matthew Morris (Wolverhamton Whls) but it is Rob Childs (Cycle Club Bridgnorth) who keeps the overall red jersey.

Women’s overall leader Rachel Brown (Pro Vision RT) was the quickest in her category finishing in 40th place.

1 Ben Manfield-Yorke (Morvelo Basso)
2 Grant Bigham (Velo Runner)
3 Jamieson Blain (Zappi Racing Team)
4 Jonathan Bourne (Pro Vision Race Team)
5 Daniel Brough (Velo Runner)
6 Matt Clarke (Wheelbase)
7 George Mills-Keeling (Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG)
8 Jordan Hill (Velo Runner)
9 Ben Joughin (Pro Vision Race Team)
10 Alex Simmons (Pro Vision Race Team)