race jerseys sponsored by Jacob Tipper Performance Coaching

Garthwaite solos to victory in SSSCCRRL R5

Matthew Garthwaite (Holohan Coaching Race Team) timed his attack to perfection as he soloed to victory in round five of the South Staffordshire and Shropshire Road Race League.

The latest round saw the first visit of the series to an undulating Swynnerton circuit with a climb to the finish.

Garthwaite, who finished fifth on the same course in last weekend’s West Midlands Championships, was too strong for his rivals in the shorter race distance timing his attack perfectly and riding away from his opponents.

After sitting in third overall going into the event the win for Garthwaite, from Newport, Shropshire, moved him into the leader’s yellow jersey with previous wearer Grant Bigham (Velo Runner) and second place Ben Joughin (Pro Vision Race Team) both out of action due to organising the round.

He was chased to the line by junior rider George Mills-Keeling (Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG) taking second on the night finishing just five seconds behind Garthwaite.

The second place finish for Mills-Keeling saw him take the overall junior leader’s jersey off the shoulders of organising club rider Farley Barber (Pro Vision Race Team).

Fellow Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG rider William Lewis led the bunch home to take third place on the night.

Meanwhile Rob Childs (Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG) kept the veterans’ overall leaders jersey with a 22nd place finish with top veteran on the night being taken by Matthew Morris (Wolverhampton Whls) in ninth.

Fastest woman rider on the night was Amanda Whitehouse (Stourbridge CC).

1 Matthew Garthwaite (Holohan Coaching Race Team)
2 George Mills-Keeling (Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG)
3 William Lewis (Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG)
4 George Beck (Bikestrong KTM)
5 Elroy Laud (EvoVelo Karbona)
6 Nick Morris (Clee Cycles)
7 Jacob Sparrow (Clee Cycles)
8 Chris Childs (Holohan Coaching Race Team)
9 Matthew Morris (Wolverhampton Whls)
10 David Allen (Cycle Club Bridgnorth RWG)